If a cookie is filled with raisins, is that cookie just a raisin?

War on labels.

Alright, this analogy might be a bit of a stretch, but hear me out, ok? If a person believes in Christian teachings, we label them as a Christian. We say, “He or she is a Christian.”  If a person supports the Republican party, we say, “She or he is a Republican.” If a person is born with a vagina, we label them a woman. Again we say, “She’s a woman.” Don’t get me wrong, labeling is a great way to identify the objectives. It’s when we associate everything that these labels stand for to a specific person that the fact may become construed. It’s like we deny that a person could be more than just a label. We deny them the right to be more complex. We deny them the ability to believe more than one thing.

For example, Serrin M. Foster, the president of Feminists for Life is a feminist, yet she believes in pro-life. What does that make her? On another note, I am a Catholic, and I believe in pro-choice. What does that make me?

If you know me, you would know that I always do the sign of the cross before I consume anything. It’s simply a sign of me being thankful for the food. However, my colleagues see this as me being a hard headed Christian that can not be reasoned with. Therefore, whenever they talk about controversial topics, I always hear, “Sorry Minh. I know you are a Catholic, but…” When I have never even expressed my view on those specific topics before. It’s like they just assume they know my social and political standpoint because they know I am a Catholic. It made me so uncomfortable to the point that I felt like I should stop doing the sign of the cross before I eat.

  the managing editor in the AAUW Art, Editorial, and Media Department said, “A “stereotype” is a cognitive shortcut — that is, it allows your brain to make a snap judgment based on immediately visible characteristics such as gender, race, or age.” Therefore, I suggest that we should limit ourselves on assuming things base on stereotypes. Also just for fun, try taking a quiz at implicit.harvard.edu. Maybe you’ll find out some biases about yourself you didn’t even know you had. 

Just like I said earlier, if a cookie is filled with raisins, we don’t necessarily say “ That is a raisin.” A cookie is so much more than that. A cookie is flour, baking soda, sugar, butter, eggs, and maybe raisins. However, raisins themselves do not make the cookie a cookie, but it’s everything else that does.

12031220983_8203a14964_k

 Sharon Drummond/Cookies/January 17, 2014

http://www.aauw.org/2014/08/13/why-stereotypes-are-bad/

https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/

http://www.feministsforlife.org/2013/07/smf/

Leave a Reply

